Veteran Messalonskee bus driver retires

Donna Pullen

by Dan Cassidy

Donna Pullen, a 51-year veteran school bus driver for RSU #18 Messalonskee School Department was treated to a surprise retirement party by her fellow bus drivers and supervisors recently. She plans to retire at the end of this school year.

Pullen began her employment in the nutrition department at the school. She was asked several times to become a bus driver, but she always responded that she could not drive a bus. However, in 1967, after many requests, she began her driving career.

“She has gone through three generations of kids,” according to Lennie Goff, Transportation Director of RSU #18. “She drove summer trips and has not stopped,” he said.

“Donna has always had the perfect words at the perfect time to help me feel better about myself when I began as transportation coordinator almost four years ago,” Shannon Bizier said.

Pullen, who resides in Oakland, has been very active in her community affairs. She has served as a public servant, worked on the budget committee, and served on the Fire Department Auxiliary. She was also named Driver of the Year in 2015. “Donna has gone above and beyond,” Goff said.

Mike Perkins, State Representative presented her with a Legislative Sentiment from the 128th Legislature at the celebration. Perkins is also Safety Officer of RSU 18.

Ashley Carver graduates from Becker College

Becker College’s Commence­ment ceremony was held on May 5, in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Ashley Carver, of Sidney, graduated with honors with an associates degree in veterinary science.

Winslow resident makes dean’s list at Tufts University

Cody Lambert, of Winslow, was recognized for earning a spot on the Spring 2018 dean’s list at Tufts University, in Medford/­Som­er­ville, Massachusetts.

Erskine names Leo officers

The Erskine Leo officers for 2018-19, front row, from left to right, Alex Mahon, Parker King, and Tori Grasse, all executive committee. Back Row: Alana York, Samantha Heath, vice president, Liz Sugg, president, Lucy Allen, secretary. Not pictured: Olivia Kunesh, treasurer, and Matt Veilleux, executive committee. (Contributed photo)

Winslow students to attend Boys State

In photo, from left to right, American Legion Post # 5, in Waterville, Legionnaire Larry Mitchell, students Josh Gordon, Nick Tiner, Isaac Lambrecht, Jake Witham, Zack Laflamme, Jared Goss, and Legionnaire Pearley Lachance. (Contributed photo)

Seven Juniors from Winslow High School will be attending the 71st annual American Legion Dirigo Boys State Program, at Thomas College, in Waterville, during the week of June 17-21, 2018. The students will participate in activities that will show them how local, county and state government works.

Erskine hands out Renaissance awards

Erskine Academy Faculty of the Trimester recipients, from left to right, Mitch Donar, Louise Irwin, and Ryan Nored. (Contributed photo)

On Friday, June 8, Erskine Academy students and staff attended a Renaissance Assembly to honor their peers with Renaissance Awards.

Recognition Awards were presented to the following students: Hunter Gagnon, Angel Hall-Stuart, Carleigh Ireland, Jordan Lewis, Kyle Kirkpatrick, Michael Sprague, Megan Lemieux, Annemarie Allen, Lauren Boatright, Maggie Anderson, Chris Wight, and Cody Daigneault.

In addition to Recognition Awards, Senior of the Trimester Awards were also presented to three members of the senior class: Noah Bonsant, son of Wendy and Tracy Bonsant, of Windsor; Caleb Tyler, son of Regan and Jason Tyler, of Palermo; and Austin Cowing, son of Kirsten and Tony Cowing, of Palermo. Seniors of the Trimester are recognized as individuals who have gone above and beyond in all aspects of their high school careers.

In appreciation of their dedication and service to Erskine Academy, Faculty of the Trimester awards were also presented to Louise Irwin, cafeteria staff; Mitch Donar, JMG specialist, and Ryan Nored, English instructor.

Erskine Academy Senior of the Trimester recipients, from left to right, Noah Bonsant, Caleb Tyler, and Austin Cowing. (Contributed photo)

Students named to UVermont 2018 dean’s list

Area student were named to the dean’s list at the University of Vermont, in Burlington, Vermont. There are:

Kayla Christopher, of Oakland; Delaney Curran, of Skowhegan; Brendan Curran, of Skowhegan; Emily Higgins, of Waterville; and Keely Manzo, of Albion.

Area high schools hold graduations

Winslow graduate Cassie McCaslin listens to the keynote address at the graduation at Colby on June 6. (Photo by Carol Fredette)


Jacob Bickford is happy to receive his diploma from Superintendent Dean Baker, at Lawrence High School’s commencement, on June 7. (Photo by Tawni Lively, Central Maine Photography staff)


Ryan Gagnon marches at Winslow’s graduation. (Photo by Carol Fredette)

Seagulls claim championship

Front row, left to right, Preston Roy, Ryan Brown, Gaige Martin, Jaiden Berube, Connor Brown and Colby Nadeau. Second row, Mike Stewart, Braden Littlefield, Nash Corson, Parker Higgins, Matix Ward and Wyatt Gamache. Back, coaches Joel Littlefield, Nick Nadeau, Mike Corson, Matt Ward and Chuck Roy. Contributed photo

The Albion Seagulls captured the Fairfield PAL majors baseball championship recently. The team entered the tourney as the No. 1 seed. They took the opening game, 20-11, over Yankee Trophy, and put the title game away, 15-1, over Wright’s Dairy.

Jessica Crouse named to spring dean’s list at Elizabethtown College

Jessica Crouse, of Winslow, was named to the dean’s list of Elizabethtown College, in Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, for the spring 2018 semester. Crouse is a class of 2018 Environmental Science major.

Students on the dean’s list are full-time undergraduate students who earn a semester grade point average of 3.60 or better in 14 or more credit hours, of which at least 12 credits are letter-graded course work