Margaret Chase Smith essay contest winners

The Margaret Chase Smith Library has announced the winners of its 21st annual essay contest. This year Maine high school seniors were asked to write about their solutions to the current drug epidemic.

The first-place prize of $1,000 goes to Gabrielle Kyes, from Mattanawcook Academy, in Lincoln, for her entry “Crusade Against the Drugs, Not the Users.”

Second place and $500 is awarded to Abigail Hande, of Highview Christian Academy, in Charleston.

The third-place recipient of $250 is Sigrid Sibley, of Poland Regional High School.

In addition, five honorable mention prizes of $50 were presented to Ally Clark-Bonsant and Eleanor Theriault, both of Erskine Academy, in China, Sydney McDonald, from Bangor High School, Thomas Sheils, of Casco Bay High School, in Portland, and Griffin Tibbitts, from Morse High School, in Bath.

Funding for the essay contest and library comes from the Margaret Chase Smith Foundation, located in Skowhegan, Maine.


Responsible journalism is hard work!
It is also expensive!

If you enjoy reading The Town Line and the good news we bring you each week, would you consider a donation to help us continue the work we’re doing?

The Town Line is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit private foundation, and all donations are tax deductible under the Internal Revenue Service code.

To help, please visit our online donation page or mail a check payable to The Town Line, PO Box 89, South China, ME 04358. Your contribution is appreciated!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.