Erskine named school spirit champion for fighting hunger

Erskine Academy, in South China, was among seven Maine high schools to participate in WGME 13/Fox 23’s School Spirit Challenge to benefit Good Shepherd Food Bank of Maine and area food pantries.

The School Spirit Challenge is a friendly competition among high schools to show school pride and spirit while helping communities address a shared, pressing problem—hunger in Maine—through an eight week long food and fund drive.

In addition to a School Spirit Challenge kick-off rally and appeals to the community, a “Fill the Bus” bottle drive was initiated, prompting many donations that yielded over $1,000. The Spirit Challenge committee came up with other creative ideas to raise money as well, including a school-wide dodge ball tournament, virtual food drive campaign, and raffles.

Erskine Academy students

Above, Erskine Academy students who participated in the School Spirit Challenge included, front row, from left to right, Morgan Presby, Nicole Taylor and Dylan Keller. Middle row, Matt Stultz, Russ Sugg, Jake Peavey, Liz Sugg and Parker King. Back, Scott Christainsen, Cody Daignault, Brady Studley and Chris Wight.

The Challenge culminated with the Headmaster Michael McQuarrie, Student Council Advisor Mary MacFarland, and the four class presidents visiting the WGME 13 studio in Portland on November 4, where they were presented with the winning trophy for collecting the most pounds of food—84, 474—the equivalent of 70, 395 meals, exceeding by several thousand pounds the amount raised by the second and third place schools combined.

McQuarrie stated, “The School Spirit Challenge was for a great cause and through it, our community engaged in collective creative problem-solving: we put a significant dent in the problem of hunger in Maine. Through this important initiative, we put Erskine’s values for stewardship, leadership, and relationships to work in a substantial way. I am overwhelmed by our result, and proud of the work, inspiration, and idealism of our young people.”

class presidents

Left, The four class presidents who accepted the award on behalf of the Erskine students are, from left to right, Russ Sugg, Jake Peavey, Liz Sugg and Parker King.
Contributed photos

Erskine Academy students and staff thanks the many individuals, including alumni from across the country, businesses, and organizations for their generosity and good will that supported the School Spirit Challenge with donations of food and money so that many Maine people will receive much needed food.


Responsible journalism is hard work!
It is also expensive!

If you enjoy reading The Town Line and the good news we bring you each week, would you consider a donation to help us continue the work we’re doing?

The Town Line is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit private foundation, and all donations are tax deductible under the Internal Revenue Service code.

To help, please visit our online donation page or mail a check payable to The Town Line, PO Box 89, South China, ME 04358. Your contribution is appreciated!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *