Entries by Website Editor

OBITUARIES for Thursday, January 19, 2023

ERNEST OUELLETTE JR. SIDNEY- Ernest “Ernie” Ouellette Jr., 87, passed away on Saturday, December 24, 2022, at Maine­General Med­ical Center, following a brief illness. Ernie was born February 6, 1935, in Madawaska. He was the husband to Rena (Michaud) Ouellette with whom he shared 64 years of marriage. He was a graduate of Madawaska High […]

ALBION/PALERMO: HealthReach welcomes Melanie Morin

This March, staff at Lovejoy Health Center and Sheepscot Valley Health Center will be welcoming Melanie Morin, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner, to the team. Melanie earned her master’s degree in psychiatric nursing from Husson University, of Bangor. Previously, she earned her Bach­elor’s de­gree in Nursing from the University of Maine at Fort Kent, and her Associate’s […]

OPINION: Until asked, solar company will not offer anything (Vassalboro)

COMMUNITY COMMENTARY by Jerry Hill Vassalboro resident The Maine Street Maine Coalition presents a fresh look at the current situation regarding Solar Inc. and the Vassalboro Site Planning – Solar Ordinance. The community, landowners, and town representatives must demand that this unknown guest coming to live large in this house, having the expectation of being […]

VASSALBORO: Karen Hatch named community program director

During the FY22 Vassalboro budget process a new part-time position, “Community Program Director”, was funded as of July 1, 2022, to not only oversee the youth sports aspect of the recreation department but to also bring new recreational programs to the Community. A “little” history: Previously, the Vassalboro Recreation Department was run by volunteers on […]

Relief fund set up for Ann and Peter Bako

Following the devastating house fire early the morning of January 5, the Palermo Community Foundation set up a special account to receive donations for Ann and Peter Bako. The Bakos were not at home when the fire started, so they lost everything, with no insurance. They were left with the clothes on their backs, their […]

Erskine Academy first trimester honor roll (2022)

Grade 12 High Honors: Molly Anderson, Carson Appel, Kassidy Barrett, Abigail Beyor, Eve Boatright, Angel Bonilla, Marianna Charlebois, Courtney Cowing, Tianna Cunningham, Breckon Davidson, Nicole DeMerchant, Lillian Dorval, Hailey Farrar, Brianna Gardner, Loralei Gilley, Reiana Gonzalez, Alivia Gower, Cooper Grondin, Nabila Harrington, Alexzander Hoffman, Kassidy Hopper, Grady Hotham, Grace Hutchins, Olivia Hutchinson, Hallie Jackson, Beck […]