Winslow reverend opens state Senate in prayer

Rev. Larry Lakey

Rev. Larry Lakey

On February 28, Rev. Larry Lakey, of Winslow, served as Pastor of the Day, delivering the opening prayer in the Maine State Senate.

Rev. Lakey serves as senior pastor at the Winslow Baptist Church, where he has led the congregation since 2015. Originally from New Jersey, Rev. Lakey previously served in youth and children’s ministry in both Massachusetts and Pennsylvania. He is a graduate of Messiah College, in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, and Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in South Hamilton, Massa­chusetts.

“It was an honor to meet Rev. Lakey today, and to have him open our day in prayer,” said Maine State Senator, Scott Cyrway, who represents Senate District 16.


Audrey Jordan receives principal’s award

Audrey Jordan, of Whitefield, a senior at Erskine Academy, has been selected to receive the 2017 Principal’s Award, Headmaster Michael McQuarrie announced. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principal’s Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic excellence, outstanding school citizenship, and leadership.

Audrey Jordan

Jordan, a consistent high-honors student in a program with numerous Advanced Placement courses and Concurrent Enrollment classes with nearby colleges, has also accumulated hundreds of hours of valuable community service, many at the MaineGeneral Medical Center and St. Michael’s School, in Augusta.

“Audrey, an exemplary student and fine ambassador of Erskine Academy and young people in general, personifies the school’s core values of scholarship, leadership, stewardship and relationships, making her most deserving of this recognition,” noted Headmaster McQuarrie when making the award.

Jordan, McQuarrie, and other award winners and their principals will attend an honors luncheon at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor on Saturday, April 1, at 12:30 p.m.

The honors luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler; both were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association. Additionally, five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association that represents Maine’s school administrators.

Zachary Caruso named to the dean’s list at Lehigh University

Dean’s list status, which is awarded to students who earned a scholastic average of 3.6 or better while carrying at least 12 hours of regularly graded courses, has been granted to Zachary Caruso, of Waterville, in the Fall 2016 semester, at Lehigh University, in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

Hannaford Helps bag program to benefit South China Library

South China Public Library has been chosen for the Hannaford Helps reusable bag program. Visit the China Hannaford any time in March, purchase the “Good Karma” bag, and South China Public Library will receive $1 from the proceeds. This program is designed to support local nonprofits like South China Public Library. Funds raised will benefit the children’s summer reading program. To learn more about South China Public Library, call 445-2956 or visit

Erskine Academy announces calendar changes

Parents and students should be advised of a change to Erskine Academy’s school calendar. Due to excessive storm days, the teacher workshop day scheduled for Friday, March 17, is now a regular school day and will be a white day. Please contact the school with any questions.


Rec department Father/Daughter dance

From left to right, Jacob VonOesen and daughter Mara, Craig Drew and daughter Abbie, and Justin Poulin and daughter Gillian, at the 23rd annual Waterville Parks and Rec Father/Daughter Dance on March 3.

Photo by Missy Brown, Central Maine Photography staff

Big Brothers Big Sisters celebrates bigs and littles

“Little Brother” Austyn Wilmot, left, and his “Big Brother” Gilliad Munden from Knox County received the 2017 Big Brothers Big Sisters “Never Miss Life Award” at the agency’s Program Celebration in Bangor recently, celebrating mentors, volunteers and the 700 youth served by BBBS of Mid-Maine.
Contributed photo

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Mid-Maine hosted Bigs, Littles and their families at its Annual Program Celebration January 28 at Bangor Boys & Girls Club. Matches from Androscoggin, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Penobscot, Somerset and Waldo counties enjoyed a Winter Carnival with games, refreshments, indoor bounce house and an awards ceremony recognizing distinguished community and site-based matches and volunteer coordinators.

Big Brothers Big Sisters helps kids facing adversity by providing professionally-supported, 1-to-1 mentoring programs throughout its seven-county service area. The event brought together Littles and Bigs to celebrate program success, community support and the agency’s 700 youth served this year.

Big Brothers Big Sisters is pleased to recognize the 2017 award recipients:

“Never Miss Life Award” named in memory of Little Sister Jessica Breault – Gilliad Munden and Austyn Wilmot (Knox County).

Community-Based Match of the Year Awards – Jaclyn Stratton and Alana Fancy, Tabitha Fillion & Ally Beeman (both from Knox County).

School-Based Match of the Year Awards – Sydney Costa and Trystan Mitchell (Penobscot County) Marlys Rietdyk and Kyle Van Doren Crooker (Kennebec County), Kaitlyn Woods and Kalona Sanborn (Penobscot County).

School-Based Coordinator of the Year Award – Ian Palmer and Keith Marino (Bangor Boys & Girls Club).

Twenty-seven community and school-based matches were celebrated for reaching anniversary milestones and being matched between 3 and 10 years through Big Brothers Big Sisters.

The event was sponsored by BBBS community partners at Bangor Boys & Girls Club, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Shaw’s Supermarket, Bangor Mall Cinemas 10, Midcoast Recreation Center and Camden National Bank with activity donations from Great Salt Bay School in Damariscotta and Mount Merici Academy in Waterville.

To learn more about changing a child’s life as a volunteer or donor, call Big Brothers Big Sisters of Mid-Maine at 236-2227, email, or visit

Isaac H. Gingras named to St. Lawrence University dean’s list

Isaac H. Gingras, of Augusta, has been selected for inclusion on St. Lawrence University’s dean’s list for academic achievement during the fall 2016 semester, in Canton, New York.

Gingras is a member of the class of 2018 and is majoring in government. Gingras attended Cony High School, in Augusta.

Oliveira earns fall honors at Roger Williams University

Michael Oliveira, a resident of Waterville, has been named to the Fall 2016 dean’s list at Roger Williams University in Bristol, Rhode Island.

Staten named to Assumption College dean’s list

Assumption College, in Worcester, Massachusetts, has announced that Shalahn Staten, of Clinton, a member of the class of 2018, is one of 486 students named to the college’s prestigious undergraduate dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester.