Unofficial results of contested races in China, Vassalboro, Fairfield & Waterville (June 2024)

by Mary Grow


At the polls on June 11, China voters approved all articles on the warrant for the annual town business meeting. A few more than 500 votes were cast; the majority of the articles received more than 350 affirmative votes.

The three least popular articles were the request for $1,184,525 for town administration, which was approved by a vote of 349 to 162; the revised sections of the Land Development Code incorporating new state laws, approved 346 to 145; and the much-discussed new Solar Energy Systems Ordinance, approved 331 to 163.

The revised Planning Board Ordinance got 396 favorable votes, with 106 voters opposed.

On a separate ballot, the RSU #18 school budget validation referendum, supporting the 2024-25 budget that RSU voters approved in May, received 328 votes, to 181 opposed (with seven blank ballots).

China’s local elections will be held Nov. 5.


Vassalboro voters voted on June 11 in local elections; on two proposed ordinance amendments; and to validate the 2024-25 school budget they had approved at their open town meeting on June 3. Town Clerk Cathy Coyne reported results as follows.

In uncontested local elections, Christopher French was re-elected to the select board with 289 votes, and Jolene Gamage was re-elected to the school board with 257 votes.

The revised solid waste ordinance was approved by a vote of 202 in favor to 88 opposed.

The revised Marijuana Business Ordinance was approved by a vote of 193 in favor to 100 opposed.

The school budget was re-approved by a vote of 217 yes to 79 no.

In the only contest on the three state primary ballots, between First District Republicans Andrew Piantidosi and Ronald Russell, Piantidosi got 104 votes and Russell 167 votes.

Coyne said 296 of Vassalboro’s more than 3,100 registered voters participated in the June 11 voting.


by Roland D. Hallee

U.S. House of Representatives – Republican

Austin Theriualt, 189
Michael Soboleski, 96

Maine Senate District #16 – Republican

Scott Cyrway, 188
Michael D. Perkins, 115

M.S.A.D. #49 School Budget

Yes – 291
No – 199

M.S.A.D #49 School Board (2)

Maxwell N. Kenney, 370
Ryan T. Warren, 327


by Roland D. Hallee

Representative to Legislature District #64 – Democrat

Flavia M. DeBrito, 185
Andrew S. Dent, 92

Representative to Legislature District #65 – Democrat

Cassie L. Julia, 490
Bruce A.White, 280

State Senate District #16 – Republican

Scott W. Cyrway, 178
Michael D. Perkins, 136

Representative to Congress, Distcit #1 – Republican

Ronald C. Russell, 166
Andrew Piantidosi, 101


Responsible journalism is hard work!
It is also expensive!

If you enjoy reading The Town Line and the good news we bring you each week, would you consider a donation to help us continue the work we’re doing?

The Town Line is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit private foundation, and all donations are tax deductible under the Internal Revenue Service code.

To help, please visit our online donation page or mail a check payable to The Town Line, PO Box 89, South China, ME 04358. Your contribution is appreciated!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *